Our committees

The NZSA has a number of committees and interest groups to represent its members in particular practice areas, or areas of interest.  Under each Committee is listed the Committee Convenor, Committee members, Terms of Reference for each Committee and a contact email.

If you are interested in joining any committee or interest group, please get in touch with us by  email


Appeals Panel

Convenor: Keith Taylor

Committee Members: Heathcliff Neels, John Feyter, John Smith, Kate Dron, Nina Herries

Conference Committee

Convenor: Michelle Green

Committee Members: Donovan Stevens, Kristee Hardacre, Shami Shearer

Terms of Reference

Communications Committee

Convenor: Samuel Stewart

Committee Members: Bao An Le, Elri Pienaar, Hayley Haskell

Terms of Reference

Enterprise Risk Management Committee

Convenor: Deniz Sumengen

Committee Members: Alex Kuhnast, Evan Cooper, Herwig Raubal, Maggie Gwaze, Roshane Samarasekera, Susan Wang

Terms of Reference

Events Committee

Convenor: Caroline Moy

Committee Members: Leanne Reynolds, Richard Korte, Richard Zhou, Sabrina He, Sarah Cullen

Terms of Reference

General Insurance Committee

Convenor: Margaret Cantwell

Committee Members: Andrea Gluyas, Clinton Freeman, Craig Lough, Heathcliff Neels, Matt Clere, Peter Davies, Robert Cole, Ross Simmonds, Sam Segal

Terms of Reference

Health Committee

Convenor: Anagha Pasche

Committee Members: Alex Kuhnast, Jeremy Holmes, Peter Davies, Shaun Ashman, Xiao Zhong

Terms of Reference


IFRS 17 Working Group

Convenor: Ben Coulter

Committee Members: Charles Hett, Christian Barrington, David Chamberlain, Farhaad Kachwalla, Fred Jorgensen, John Smith, Jonathan Turner, Leck Tham, Linda Page, Margaret Cantwell, Mark Sim, Michelle Green, Nicholas Warren, Peter Davies, Richard Johnson, Richard McPherson, Shami Shearer

Terms of Reference

Investigation Panel

Convenor: Linda Page

Committee Members: Anagha Pasche, Charles Hett, Christian Barrington, Craig Davis, Herwig Raubal, Ian Perera, John Smeed, Kelvin Prisk, Margaret Cantwell, Michael Bartram, Oliver Tattersall

Life Insurance Committee

Convenor: David Chamberlain

Committee Members: Adrian Allott, Ben Coulter, Caroline Moy, Chris Marston-Fergusson, Dayle Noonan, Farhaad Kachwalla, Hamish Farrar, Jonathan Lowe, Lyndon Jones, Mark Sim

Terms of Reference


Member Engagement Committee

Convenor: TBC

Committee Members: Jason Pushon, Jiang Sandy, Kevin Ye, Mark Bentley


Professional Conduct Committee

Convenor: Doune Connett

Committee Members: Andrea Gluyas, Brian Lenehan, John Errington, Linda Caradus

Terms of Reference


Professional Development Committee

Convenor: Catherine Johnston

Committee Members: Charmaine Green, Gary Chadwick, Nathan Thomas, Oliver Bale

Terms of Reference 


Professional Standards Committee

Convenor: John Smith

Committee Members: Fred Jorgensen, Linda Page, Ross Simmonds

Terms of Reference


Student Committee

Convenor: Richard Zhou

Committee Members: Claytyn Riki, Declan Taylor, Hayley Haskell, Lucia Lu, Shawn Sreedhar, Tyler Bond, Vishan Perera, William Doherty, Willie Huang

Terms of Reference 

Sustainability Interest Group

Convenor: Darren Fleming

Committee Members: Christian Barrington, Connor Sullivan, Georgia Knowles, Sam Stewart, Sarah Elsey, Shashini Abeygunawardena, Shami Shearer

Term of Reference



Retirement Income Interest Group

Convenor: Ian Perera

Committee Members: Alison O’Connell, Christine Ormrod, Dinushi Jayasuriya, Fraser McKay, Kelvin Prisk, Simon Ferry

Terms of Reference