Our Committees

The NZSA has a number of committees and interest groups to represent its members in particular practice areas, or areas of interest.  If you are interested in joining any committee or interest group, please get in touch with us.

Climate Change Interest Group

Convenor: Richard Beauchamp

Committee Members: Andrew Curtin, Daniel Wong, Les Lohmann, Margaret Cantwell, Nicola Thompson, Robert Cole,

Communications Committee

Convenor: Jessie McCreary (Newsletter Editor)

Committee Members: Adam Follington, Andrea Gluyas, Jenn Dobinson (Website Editor)

Terms of reference

Conference Committee

Convenor: Catherine Edgar

Committee Members: Leanne Reynolds, Leck Tham, Nic Warren

Terms of reference

CPD Task Force

Convenor: Peter Brown

Committee Members: Andrea Gluyas, Catherine Johnstone, Ian Perera, Jenn Dobinson, John Smeed, Paul Rhodes and Ross Simmonds

Terms of Reference

Enterprise Risk Management

Convenor: Anagha Pasche

Committee Members: Charmaine Green, Richard Johnson, Scott Lewis

Terms of reference

Entrants & Education

Convenor: Lyndon Jones

Committee Members: Melissa Sutjipto, Peter Davies, Sam Segal

Terms of reference


Convenor: Kevin Chou

Committee Members: Catherine Edgar,  Ethan Choi, Ian Collins, Jenn Dobinson and Richard Korte

Terms of reference

Experience Investigation

Experience Investigations now forms part of the Life Insurance Committee’s Terms of Reference.

Terms of reference

External Relations

Convenor: Adam Follington

Committee Members: Andrea Gluyas and Richard Beauchamp

Terms of reference

General Insurance

Convenor: Christian Barrington

Committee Members:  Craig Lough, Marcelo Lardies, Margaret Cantwell, Mathew Jensen, Peter Davies, Robert Cole,  Simon Young, Wayne Anderson and Win-Li Toh

Terms of reference


Convenor: Sandra Chapman

Committee Members: Anita Samu, Heather McLeod, John Feyter, John Smeed, Len Elikhis, Peter Davies, Xiao Zhong

Terms of reference

IFRS 17 Working Group

Convenor: Ben Coulter

Committee Members: TBA

Life Insurance

Convenor: David Chamberlain

Committee Members: Bartosz Piwcewicz, Catherine Johnston, Darren Fleming, Hamish Farrar, Mark Sim, Michael Bartram, Richard Johnson

Terms of reference

Professional Conduct

Convenor: Doune Connett

Committee Members: Brian Lenehan, John Errington

Terms of reference

Professional Standards

Convenor: Herwig Raubal

Committee Members: Charlie Cahn, Ian New, Ross Simmonds

Terms of reference

Public Sector Interest Group

Convenor: Paul Rhodes

Committee Members: Adrian Allott, Andrea Gluyas, Charles Hett, Dan Stoner, Eric Judd, Heather McLeod, Jinning Zhao, Kate Dron, Linda Page, Richard Johnson,

Terms of reference

Retirement Income Interest Group

Convenor: Christine Ormrod

Committee Members: Alison O’Connell, Catherine Edgar, Daniel Mussett, Joe Benbow, Kelvin Prisk

Terms of reference

Student Committee

Convenors: Matt Clere & Farhaad Kachwalla

Committee Members: Andrew Curtin, Caroline Moy, John Park, Michelle Porter, Evan Cooper, Riley Power, Lea Tran, James Pearson, An Le

Terms of Reference

About our Committees

Each Committee has a Terms of Reference. The arrangements below apply to all Committees unless specified otherwise in the section of the document which is specific to a particular committee.

Committee Membership

Committee Membership is to be approved by Council. The Convenor will be a Fellow of the New Zealand Society of Actuaries who is appointed by (and may be replaced by) the Council.

The Convenor is responsible for recruitment of other members of the Committee, with appointments and rotations to be approved by the Council. Re-approval of Committee members is required by Council every three years.

Committee Meetings

Committees meet on a regular basis to achieve their objectives. The Convenor is responsible for ongoing administration.

External Communications

The Convenor is empowered to engage with external parties on behalf of the Society on matters contained within the scope of the Committee’s Terms of Reference above. All public communications must be approved by the President or a Council member, the Convenor’s role being to provide advice to the President and Council on NZSA public communications.


The Committee will provide the Council with a monthly update of its activities and report on the Years activities for the AGM. The Committee will also inform the Council of any material issues it considers appropriate at any other time.

NZ Actuaries