Our Rules set out the entry requirements for Fellows and Associates of other actuarial bodies who move to New Zealand.

At a high level, actuaries who are Fellows or Associates of the following bodies may apply for the equivalent designation of the NZ Society of Actuaries once they are working in New Zealand:

  • Actuarial Society of South Africa
  • Canadian Institute of Actuaries
  • Casualty Actuarial Society (USA)
  • Institute and Faculty of Actuaries
  • Institute of Actuaries of Australia
  • Institute of Actuaries of India
  • Society of Actuaries (USA)
  • Society of Actuaries in Ireland


A Fellow of another actuarial body that is a full member of the International Actuarial Association, and who is working in New Zealand, may apply to become an Associate of the NZ Society of Actuaries. Eligibility to transfer to Fellowship is based on meeting the requirements of guidelines set by Council from time to time.

Currently the guidelines require working in New Zealand for three years in a role which provides for the gaining of suitable experience in local actuarial practice, attendance at a recognised professionalism course, maintenance of the membership of the relevant overseas actuarial association and endorsement by a Fellow of the NZ Society of Actuaries. The period of three years may be reduced, at the discretion of Council, for actuaries with significant overseas experience which qualifies them well for their work in New Zealand.

Please note that the information on this page is a guide only and the Rules, and where the Rules allow it, the discretion of Council, prevail at all times.

If you have further questions or are unclear about your eligibility, please contact the Secretariat with details of your specific circumstances.